Honoring Excellence Awards

The 2021 Honoring Excellence Awards Program is now open!  LeadingAge Illinois provider members are invited to submit nominations. Honoring Excellence is LeadingAge Illinois’ award program that recognizes individuals and organizations that put quality first, deliver excellence and inspire others to do the same. If you have an exceptional staff member or are an organization with a stellar program deserving of recognition – we encourage you to submit a nomination!

This year’s award winners will be recognized at the 2021 LeadingAge Illinois Annual Meeting. The deadline for this year’s awards program application submission is Midnight, April 1, 2021.

Each LeadingAge Illinois provider member organization is limited to one frontline staff nomination and one management staff nomination each for the Heart and Hands, Strive and Thrive, and Rising Star Awards. An individual may only be nominated for one type of award. Please note that the Leadership in Action Award will have only one management staff winner. Please review the 2021 Honoring Excellence Awards Participation Guidelines for the full award program details, deadlines, rules and requirements. Please note that by submitting a nomination, the organization agrees that, if their nominee is selected for an award, they will submit a video to be included as part of the LeadingAge Illinois Annual Meeting recognizing the individual(s) for the award at their own expense.

There are four individual Honoring Excellence awards and one organization award.

Heart and Hands Award: This award is given to an individual who embraces person centered care/service through efforts that go beyond those normally considered within the position’s job description. The individual demonstrates exceptional relationships with residents/clients that provides special enrichment, increases quality of life to the residents/clients, and recognizes and responds to the residents’/clients’ needs and values.
Heart and Hands Award nomination form

Strive and Thrive Award: This award is given to an individual who demonstrates an extraordinary commitment to excellence. Through innovation and/or creative thinking, the individual has produced or created a result that is a direct benefit to the residents/clients or the organization. This award recognizes vision, initiative and creative problem solving.
Strive and Thrive Award nomination form

Leadership in Action Award: This award is given to an individual whose actions and leadership greatly enhance the work environment and the quality of life for their colleagues and residents/clients. The individual’s accomplishments demonstrate a commitment to a team approach and excellence in the workplace. This collaborative style of leadership has resulted in trusting and respectful relationships with their team and high levels of resident/client satisfaction.
Leadership in Action Award nomination form

Rising Star Award: This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an extraordinary performance within their first 24 months of employment. The individual established a robust enthusiasm for the field of aging services from the very beginning of their employment. They have consistently demonstrated a strong work ethic, commitment, initiative, leadership and the ability to be a team player. This person routinely goes above and beyond what is expected.
Rising Star Award nomination form

Community Impact Award: This award is given to an organization for participation in outreach to the greater community beyond the organization’s own walls or core mission. The organization shall have created or participated in a program/effort that has had a positive impact on both the community at-large and the organization. The action(s) taken by the organization measurably met a community need and demonstrates the organization’s role as a contributing member of their local community.
Community Impact Award nomination form