

THIS WEEK

JCAR Welcomes New Members

There are four new legislators on the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR). The 12-member committee is a bipartisan legislative oversight committee created by the General Assembly in 1977. Pursuant to the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, the committee is authorized to conduct systematic reviews of administrative rules promulgated by State agencies. JCAR conducts several integrated review programs, including a review program for proposed, emergency and peremptory rulemaking, a review of new Public Acts, and a complaint review program.

The four new members are:

Senator Bill Brady (R-44th District; Bloomington); Assistant Republican Leader Senator Karen McConnaughay (R-33rd District; St. Charles) Representative Ron Sandack (R-81st District; Downers Grove) Representative Michael Tryon (R-66th District; Crystal Lake); Assistant Republican Leader

They are replacing:

Senator Sue Rezin (R-38th District; Morris); Assistant Republican Leader Senator Dale Righter (R-55th District; Mattoon) Representative Donald Moffitt (R-74th District; Gilson) Former Representative Timothy Schmitz (R-Batavia)

As a refresher, here's a look at the <u>Illinois rulemaking process</u>. LeadingAge Illinois is strengthening relationships with these ILGA members. If you have any questions related to JCAR or any other legislative or regulatory issue, please contact <u>Kirk Riva</u> and <u>Jason Speaks</u>.